Hello Guest

Author Topic: Drawing a line to the screen.  (Read 3417 times)

Flascher

• View Profile
Drawing a line to the screen.
« on: June 01, 2015, 09:25:53 PM »
Hey everyone, I've been messing around with trying to get a line to draw... I have 2 points, and just want to draw a line between them.

I've tried using

Code: [Select]
Otter.Draw.Line(point1.X, point1.Y, point2.X, point2.Y, Color.Cyan, 2);

I've also tried creating a new surface, adding it to the scene, and setting that surface as the draw target.

After my loop in which I try to draw all my lines, I call surface.Render(), but that didn't quite seem to do it either.

Here's a pastebin to the entire class (Sorry if this is terribly messy, I'm still learning to use Otter! :) )
http://pastebin.com/9AkcTLaz

Fruckert

• Total Square
    • View Profile
Re: Drawing a line to the screen.
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2015, 10:30:52 PM »
You'll want to stick that in the Render override method of the scene, or an entity. Otherwise, it'll render it for one frame and then the game will clear it's surfaces.

Flascher

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2015, 11:24:07 PM »
Well, now I've got this:

Code: [Select]
public override void Render()
{
    base.Render();
    foreach (var edge in graph.GetEdges())
    {
        Draw.Line(point1.X, point1.Y, point2.X, point2.Y, Color.Cyan, 2);
    }
}

but that hasn't seemed to change anything. How would I go about shoving all those lines into an Entity?

Kyle

• Administrator
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2015, 08:35:57 PM »
Your code in the render function looks right.  Not sure where point1 and point2 are coming from though.  You might be rendering off camera, or below something else?  There is the "Verticies" graphic type which you can add verts to and render in various ways.  It's basically just a wrapper for SFML and OpenGL's basic primitive drawing stuff.

Flascher

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2015, 05:56:41 AM »